IIHS Top Safety Pick Award: Who won?

IIHS Top Safety Pick Award: Who won?

IIHS strengthens requirements for Top Safety Pick awards

The Tesla Model Y has been awarded the IIHS' 2023 Top Safety Pick+ award. This year, the IIHS has raised the bar for vehicle safety with stricter criteria, resulting in only 28 of the 48 winners receiving the Top Safety Pick+ award.

IIHS President David Harkey said, "These models are true standouts in both crashworthiness and crash prevention." The Tesla Model Y was among the 28 winners, demonstrating exceptional performance across all criteria in the mid-size luxury SUV category, which included eight other vehicles.

The IIHS has introduced a more rigorous side impact test this year, requiring 82% more impact energy than the original test. The headlight rating criteria have also been raised, with all trim levels of the winning vehicle now required to be rated "acceptable" or "good." The organization has also added a night-time frontal collision avoidance test to the Top Safety Pick+ award criteria.

2023 Tesla Model Y

To qualify for the Top Safety Pick+ award, a vehicle must earn a "good" rating in both driver- and passenger-side small overlap front tests, plus the moderate overlap front test. They must also achieve a "good" rating in the new side crash tests, a score of "good" or "acceptable" in the headlight evaluation, and an "advanced" or "superior" rating in both daytime and nighttime vehicle-to-pedestrian front crash prevention.

This recognition highlights Tesla's commitment to safety and innovation, as well as the vehicle's ability to meet the stringent requirements set forth by the IIHS.

To make your Tesla EVEN safer, we offer the following:

Brighter tail lights: link here

Sentry mode stickers: link here

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.